The Craft Area Reclaimed

My February mini project was to organize my craft area (aka the dumpster). Items got dumped there while waiting for their final destination, either it’s home here or elsewhere. The inspiration for the project was born out of desperation. I wanted to make some greeting cards but first I had to clear a work space and dig out the supplies.

IMG_0042 copy

When I finally starting working on the project it only took about 2 1/2 hours to get the majority of the project done. My goal was to get the items out of the craft area that don’t live there, make it simpler to get the supplies out and to put them away.

My first step was to make a plan. I decided to create two craft zones, one for sewing and one for paper crafts. I took every thing off the shelves and put groups of items together. Because I had the least volume of sewing supplies I put them on the smaller shelf. I moved the small shelf next to the sewing machine to create the sewing zone.

IMG_0079.jpg

I moved the two larger shelves together for the paper craft and scrapbooking zone. I sorted and purged the drawers in the craft cart because the supplies were a mess! I put the smaller craft items, colored pencils, adhesives and rubber stamps in the drawers. Each drawer now has a specific purpose. If I need a tape runner, it’s in the top drawer.

I still have a few small projects to finish. I want to label the craft cart drawers and the storage boxes, and purge the rubber stamps (again). The last small project is to get rid of the dried up markers. Time to get the creative juices flowing!

IMG_0082

Leave a comment